Tim
5/25/2011 05:57:41 am

That's a tough question. With online schools students can just Google stuff or talk to others if they know the answer. It doesn't show what the students know. And with on-campus schools they force students to memorize information that they will never use after the class is over and a lot of students forget the material that they memorized after they have taken the exam. Neither of them are effective. Schools should be about helping students know how to find the answer as well as knowing the answer. That's why I'm going to say the online one is better.

Reply
Jennifer Van de Wouwer
5/27/2011 05:27:47 pm

I think it depends on the student. My 5th grade son loves the learning he does online and retains it better, longer, etc...he actually learns it instead of what was happening in traditional school. I take online college classes through WSU and LOVE the format! I found many of my college classes to be a huge waste of time with the 5 days a week for 50 minute each day thing. I would much rather sit for a longer period of time and not be restricted on how long I engage in what I'm learning. Online learning has evolved in colleges a lot and I have learned way more than I ever did when I was on campus. Of course someone else could take the class for me, but at the end of the day, we all have to decide if we are going to have integrity or not. I like teaching my son that he needs to do the right thing whether someone is going to check on him or not - way better life lesson.

Reply
Pop Pop
7/3/2011 04:22:30 pm

I think is question is going to stir an arguement of Social cohesion versus financial responsibilities.

Nonetheless, I agree with Jen.

Reply
7/26/2012 09:57:50 pm

This is nice post which I was awaiting for such an article and I have gained some useful information from this site. Thanks for sharing this information.

Reply



Leave a Reply.